EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the Government and early year’s professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and 5 years.

This is a wonderful time for your and your child as they begin to learn and grow, making sense of the world around them and their everyday experiences.  At Hindley Nursery School we hope to develop positive attitudes to learning that will help children to reach their potential.

All nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders who are registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.  This support all professionals and ensures that your child receives a high quality early education.  For more information please click on the link below:

Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework

At Hindley Nursery School we encourage children  to learn through play as they explore our amazing learning environments.  Staff respond in the moment to children’s needs and next steps.  Staff are highly skilled in supporting children to make progress in their learning and development.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas
 1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Physical Development

3. Communication and Language


Specific Areas

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts and Design